Made on Monday

Recently, textile artist Kate Bridger announced a challenge called Made on Monday, on the Facebook group Textile Arts. (There’s lots of amazing eye candy popping up on this site every day, and from all over the world, so if you are in the FB neighborhood, check it out.) The Made on Monday idea is to create one small, two dimensional piece of art 5″ by 5″ square, each Monday for one year. Kate is constructing a web site to showcase these pieces, and once an artist has twelve pieces submitted, she will open a gallery page on the site.

I am relatively certain that I will not be able to accomplish this every week for 52 straight weeks, but I thought it seemed like something worth trying. I’ve been reading two books lately, on the manipulation of fabrics to create designs and textures– Ruth Singer’s Fabric Manipulation: 150 Creative Sewing Techniques, and The Art of Manipulating Fabric by Collette Wolff. Making a piece that is only 5″ square seemed like it might be a way to explore many of these techniques without the commitment of a huge piece.

I have set a couple of limits for myself (other than the 5 x 5 size):

  • I will use a common background fabric for all pieces; I have a nice little supply of this Kaffe Fassett Shot Cotton in Latte, which struck me as a good backdrop for various surface decorations I might apply.
  • I will not purchase any new supplies, but will limit myself to items already in the stash.
  • I will try to incorporate hand-sewing elements to each piece (though I reserve the right to use machinery and attachments as well).
  • I don’t plan to limit myself as to other textiles, colors, patterns, beads, bits and bobs that might be added as embellishment. 

I have not decided yet whether to finish these as individual pieces, or assemble them into a whole. We shall see! Here is my #1 – Cold Planet, 12/7/15.

IMG_1162

Have a great week.

10 thoughts on “Made on Monday

  1. sounds fun; thanks for the heads up. I foresee lots of experimenting in your future. “Cold planet” seems a nice wish…hope the people negotiating in Paris can think cold too.

    Like

  2. Another interesting challenge. I really like your idea of using these to practice fabric manipulation and using items from the stash. I’m overcommitted on challenges but will follow yours avidly.

    Like

    • Come right along! I’m re-thinking other challenges right now. Between AHIQ and this I will be busy. Need to keep time for my own ideas!

      Like

  3. I have been thinking about fabric manipulation recently (though not doing anything) – funny how we think we operate independently but the same thoughts pop up all over the web. I like your basic idea, love your first example, and am off the check out the link.

    Like

  4. Oh My! That is beautiful Sue! Well I can see we are in for a wonderful treat seeing what you’ll be making as a part of this project!

    Like

Comments are closed.