Made on Monday 2

After I posted the first Made on Monday piece, I thought I should probably document what techniques I was exploring as I went along. I realized that I had completely omitted anything about the process, and since I like to read process posts myself, I decided I’d provide some of that along the way, as of possible interest to others. So, first, a little addition to the previous post.IMG_1162

The piece Cold Planet used a technique called “furrowing”. The ‘furrowed’ piece is the same shape as the shape it will be inserted into (or in my case, applique’d to), but it is larger. I used a three inch diameter circle as the target space, but the applied piece of fabric was cut with a six inch diameter. The edges are then gathered to fit the target shape, and then the furrowing commences. Tiny tacks are made to anchor the larger shape to the base. This creates deep folds and gathers in the top layer. I started out adding a little seed bead to each of the tacks, but I started leaving them out at one point, and didn’t miss them. I enjoyed sewing this; the furrowing process was relaxing and meditative, and fascinating as the piece kept transforming under my eyes.

Made on Monday 2 – Sunny Breaks

I learned the term ‘sunny breaks’ from a newspaper weather headline on a trip to Vancouver BC some years ago. For us travellers from California, it was an amusingly optimistic way to describe the prevailing weather up there. Here in California especially of late, we have been hoping for breaks from the sunny-ness, rather than the other way around. But the day I went hunting for fabric for MOM 2, it was finally trying to be dark and rainy. IMG_1191I had recently found a stack of someone’s old attempts at hand-dyeing in my resale shop and this particular one looked very much like what I saw out the window.

This piece also involved gathering, but the applied pieces were only enlarged in one direction rather than on all sides. This technique also results in a textured surface, and the direction and depth of the folds can be controlled somewhat, by pulling them one way or the other along the gathering stitches. I was searching for some thread to do some hand-stitching in the lower third of the piece, when I stumbled across a length of metallic ribbon that just seemed right. This was trimmed and fused to suggest a passing shower. Et voila!

IMG_1174

Visit Kate Bridger ‘s web site for more information about Made on Monday, or the Textile Arts group on Facebook, to see what others are doing. References I’m using for my project include Ruth Singer’s Fabric Manipulation: 150 Creative Sewing Techniques, and The Art of Manipulating Fabric by Collette Wolff.

