Made on Monday 6 – Skating on Thin Ice

My inspirations continue to draw from the time of year and winter weather is finally here in California–it’s cold! I’m working my way through a section in Wolff’s book on all the various things you can do with tucks. These are randomly sized and spaced tucks, some uniform in width, others varying, and running in random directions so that they appear to weave over and under each other. The circle was cut from a slightly larger piece, then applique’d to the background square, and then machine stitched with opalescent thread.

IMG_1509Visit Kate Bridger ‘s web site for more information about Made on Monday, or the Textile Arts group on Facebook, to see what others are doing. References I’m using for my project include Ruth Singer’s Fabric Manipulation: 150 Creative Sewing Techniques, and The Art of Manipulating Fabric by Collette Wolff.

5 thoughts on “Made on Monday 6 – Skating on Thin Ice

  1. What a great way to use your tucker, if you have one, on one of your vintage machines. Becky (fiddlybits) showed how to use her tucker just this past week.

    Like

    • Cheryl, I’d been thinking the same and then when I watched Becky’s video I had to do it. I’ll be posting MoM #7 soon!

      Like

    • It is a pretty color, isn’t it! Unfortunately it was a smallish piece I picked up in my donation store, and the only words on the short selvage edge were “textured swirl”. Not a clue who made it, but I do not think it is very current. I had just enough left to do a new Made on Monday piece today.

      Like

Comments are closed.