Made on Monday 7 – Atmospheric River

I’m still exploring tucks this week, and I still continue to be inspired by the weather. Here in Northern California, after a longer drought than most of us can remember, we are getting a very wet winter, thanks to El Nino. The NWS forecast refers to an ‘atmospheric river’ bringing successive bands of heavy rain on shore. Yesterday, as the latest storm approached, we headed out to our favorite vantage point on the coast (Duncans Landing) to check the surf. The steady line of waves coming ahead of the storm was pretty impressive.DSC00116

Today, I’m adding a bit of my process because I’ve been encouraged by some of my enablers from TreadleOn. Cheryl suggested I try out my vintage tucker (or tuck marker, or tuck creaser, as you may prefer), after Becky (Fiddly Bits) posted another cool YouTube video of a very old tucker she uses on her Florence fancy leg treadle. If you are interested in vintage machines, you should check out Becky’s videos. My personal favorite is the one where she’s sewing quilt blocks in the cab of the tractor while plowing a huge field. How about that technology mashup?

Anyhow, I buffed up the old tuck marker I found for a quarter in the thrift store and set it up on my Featherweight. Sorry to my people-powered friends, but I don’t have any untailed machines that will accept a low-shank Singer foot–at least where I can get to them–at present. But the FW did just great. IMG_1546At left is a closeup of the first few completed pleats. You can see the crease mark made by the attachment to the right of the nearest pleat. I discovered that the mark shows up best if the right side of the fabric where the mark will go is face down in the attachment. Next (below) is a picture of the setup. The fold edge of the pleat goes over the crease marker and under the presser foot. The rear guide scale determines the depth of the pleats, and the front marker sets the distance between them and makes a crease in the appropriate location.IMG_1551

Here are a couple of views of the work from the back (left) and front (right). The accuracy of the pleating is really remarkable. I didn’t iron in between forming the pleats, just finger pressed along the line.

IMG_1553IMG_1555 As you see in the finished piece, it was much easier for me to make nice straight, regular pleats with the tucker than it was for me to keep my stitching lines straight across the pleats.

And here is MoM #7 – Atmospheric River

IMG_1556

Thanks for visiting. And stay tuned for more tucking experiments!

 

 

Visit Kate Bridger ‘s web site for more information about Made on Monday, or the Textile Arts group on Facebook, to see what others are doing. References I’m using for my project include Ruth Singer’s Fabric Manipulation: 150 Creative Sewing Techniques, and The Art of Manipulating Fabric by Collette Wolff.

2 thoughts on “Made on Monday 7 – Atmospheric River

  1. I plan to find a use for that tuck pattern someday. Of course every Monday when I read your post I say, “Next week I’ll make one.” Don’t hold your breath as other things are intruding.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been thinking about fabric manipulation recently, but haven’t actually done any work with the idea: your pieces are making me think I should on with it, as I really like what you are doing.

    Like

Comments are closed.