Made on Monday 14 – Nets of Being

And now, for something completely different! (If you can cite the reference you’re dating yourself!)
If you know me, you know that I love color. My MoM pieces for the first 13 weeks began in a rather colorful way, but I really got on a monochrome jag for awhile there. The response to it was very gratifying and I will keep that mode in my repertoire, but I’m pining for color.
The title of this piece comes from a poem by Charles Olson. I studied this poem in university days. I never was sure I quite understood it, but the words are beautiful, humorous and mysterious and speak to me of the mysteries of life. I imagine I am a bit more aware of all those mysteries now than I was 45 years ago. The phrase keeps coming back to me “awake, my sleeping ones, disentangle the nets of being”.
What are those nets of being? This got me thinking about physical nets, knotted, woven, fibers, textiles, cloth, even lace, and how it is made and how it holds together, or doesn’t. An interesting metaphor for life, perhaps. I supposed my nets of being might be what I want them to be, in the colors I choose, and perhaps with some stray pretties and not-so pretty bits caught up in them.

 

This net was made by sandwiching pieces of decorative yarns, ribbons, and threads between two layers of Solvy Ultra (water soluble stabilizer). I pinned and clipped these layers together and stitched a frame around the outside. Here’s the sandwich under the needle, after the initial square frame was stitched.IMG_1782

I used my 1911 Singer model 66-1 for this project. I love to use this machine because it is so smooth, reliable, quiet and placed at a window where I have a nice view. It’s very meditative, and sews a better seam than most of my newer machines.

Here is the piece after I had completed the stitching of the net.

IMG_1783

The next step was to trim off the excess Solvy film in the margins, then immerse the whole thing in water. I dissolved and rinsed out most of the Solvy glue, but left in a little to assist with shaping. Then I blocked it with pins and let it dry in a 3-D rumpled shape, as a net might be when thrown out to dry. (Here a tip of the hat and good hopes for all the crab fishermen who could not fish this winter on our coast, due to the closure of the Dungeness crab fishery in Northern California). Anyhow, here is a shot of the drying phase.

IMG_1784

Finally, the piece was affixed to the background. And here is the finished piece.IMG_1796

 

The Made On Monday site is live here. New artist pages are being created often. Be sure to check it out!

4 thoughts on “Made on Monday 14 – Nets of Being

  1. What a unique and amazing piece of art Sue! It really does seem to embody the line from the poem too. It was fun seeing how you sewed it together. How clever!

    Like

  2. I find I am looking forward to seeing what you get up to each Monday – these posts are always interesting and send my mind off on all sorts of tangents which I really enjoy.

    Like

  3. Thanks Claire, Lara and Kaja! This weekly exercise is really having an effect on me. I will share some reflections on that topic when I have a bit of time. I appreciate your visiting and your comments a lot. It is interesting working within such a small footprint (5″ x 5″) but with each piece, I learn something new and get so many new ideas for other pieces, larger pieces, combinations of techniques, etc. It’s been fun for me to see what the other MoM participants are doing as well.

    Like

Comments are closed.