Made on Monday 15 – Rusty 1

I’ve been playing with a lot of different techniques for altering and using, abusing and fusing fabrics and other materials, mixing my media, so to speak.
This week’s piece started with some cotton fabric that I dyed in tea first, then left out in the rain for a couple of days with some rusting objects in and on it…washers, nails, chain, iron stakes, and other doo-dads I found around the side of the house that we call “funkytown”. I added an image from a photograph of a rusty old piece of mining equipment, printed on Lutradur,heat distressed and cut out, layered with art papers and tulle, a little foiling, couched novelty yarns, and freehand stitched on the ol’ Redhead treadle.

 

#15 Rusty 1

I love the rusty blotches and have more of that fabric, so watch for more Rusties in future!

The Made On Monday site is live here. New artist pages are being created often. Be sure to check it out!

2 thoughts on “Made on Monday 15 – Rusty 1

  1. It’s always fun to see what you’re doing. I need to learn to make some small projects. It’s certainly a good way to practice a technique. Your rusty fabric reminds me of some LuAnn Kessi posted last year. She lives on a farm and used all kinds of mechanical junk and chains to create her fabric. It never occurred to me this would work with tiny rusting bits. Fun!

    Like

  2. I love, really love this. It’s my favourite Monday piece so far. I have an artist friend who works with rust a lot: it produces gorgeous colours.

    Like

Comments are closed.