Made on Monday 26 – Hale a Ke La

This week marks the half way point of my personal Made on Monday challenge! I am really pleased and a little surprised that I have actually managed to produce a piece a week for six months! Ta-da!

If you have ever been to the top of Haleakela on Maui, you have seen what really looks more like a moonscape than the House of the Sun. Another Hawaiian volcano…seems to be a theme here! This is one of the photos I took the first time I saw it. Haleakala Crater 2

This week’s piece started with this image printed on a sheet of Lutradur, which is a fairly sheer, pressed web of fibers. When images are printed on it they become quite translucent, and washed out…which completely alters the look of the photo. I will have to experiment with ways to get more intense color transfer, because the resulting piece is not at all like the photo I started with. However, I decided to go with it.

I collaged the printed image with some other pieces of background from a previous piece, and then embellished it with machine stitching and metallic and watercolor pencils. I had some fun doing rapid zig-zag stitching, steering with my left hand and fiddling with the stitch width slider with my right…I will do some more of that, I think!

#26 Hale a Ke La

Thanks for coming by, and have a great Monday!

Visit Made on Monday with Kate Bridger, and see what everyone else is doing!

3 thoughts on “Made on Monday 26 – Hale a Ke La

  1. Always interesting to see what you’re doing… even if it didn’t work the way you wanted. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. I like the deep red highlights and your varying width zigzag bands – definitely something to explore further, I think.

    Like

Comments are closed.