Made on Monday 44 – Cacophony

I have begun working through Jane Dunnewold‘s Creative Strength Training course, actually a third time through reading it and really trying to do the exercises and get with the program generally. It is a way to develop a habit of artistic practice. She likens the practice of art to the way an athlete might practice, but in the case of artists, the ‘cross training’ comes in the form of writing and other types of exercises, contemplations to help a person define what their intentions are with regard to their art, and create a system to achieve them.  The exercise in the second chapter is called “Expanded Square”. The challenge is to make some following directions, and then to see what happens if you don’t follow the rules. The chapter has to do with acknowledging our “inner rebel”. Initially, we were to create the expanded boxes using black and white paper and a pair of scissors. Okay, well, I didn’t have any black paper, but I had some other-colored paper, so I used that instead. Here’s my first set:1

I was quite taken with the graphic look of these shapes. I can see using them as a repeating overall design of one or more of them. There is a sort of surprise in the design that happens as you flip the cutout pieces out of the square and stick them down. Next, I thought I’d try to expand some boxes using iDraw. This resulted in expanded boxes within boxes.

2

Naturally, having broken the “color rule”, I also immediately wanted to try this in fabric, so I’ve been making a series of interpretations in cloth, in the MoM format of 5″ square.

Made on Monday #44

cacophony, 

Harsh discordance of sound; dissonance: a cacophony of hoots, cackles, and wails.

discordant and meaningless mixture of sounds. Frequent use of discords of a harshness and relationship difficult to understand.

44-cacaphony

For Kate Bridger‘s  Made on Monday.

Thanks for coming by!

Sue

7 thoughts on “Made on Monday 44 – Cacophony

  1. This is a fun concept and it looks pretty easy to implement. I like the results of your cacophony in fabric. Thanks for sharing, and for the reminder that actually DOING exercises brings more than just reading about them. 😉

    Like

  2. I like Jane Dunnewold’s idea of creative training -it’s an interesting way to look at things. Your cut paper pieces do have strong lines – it will be interesting to see how you develop this in fabric.

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing your progress through this prompt. I especially like your use of prints in the fabric version. Bravo.

    Like

    • Thanks, Claire. I wish the contrast was greater, but up close I like this one, too…it really kind of conveys what it was meant to.

      Like

  4. Great job, Sue. I have Jane’s book also and have read through it – thinking I need to make time for the assignments/adventures. 🙂 You’ve given me inspiration to try again. I did an exercise similar to this in an online workshop (Elizabeth Barton’s on Academy of Quilting) and remember how interesting it was.

    Like

    • Thanks, Kris. I’m enjoying working through it in a systematic way. I think now, third time through, I’m starting to ‘get it’.

      Like

Comments are closed.